Poet or Writer?


Is a poet a writer?
Is a writer a poet?

Either Poet or Writer?
Neither Writer nor Poet?
Both Poet or Writer?
Which one are we?


Inspiration On: Tuesday, 11 August 2014 at 9:38am
Revised On: Friday, 15 August 2014 at 12:35pm

These are the questions I have been asking around and myself. Though I have some friends who are writers, they are not poets. One out of the writers is a poet whereas my writing isn’t so well but unexpectedly, poetry opens my unique poetic voice. I really thank God for opening my voice. Wish you all have good days and thank you.

21 thoughts on “Poet or Writer?

  1. I think poets are certainly writers, but writers have a range to spread out on – they can be all of it or the smallest thing – but not always a poet. If someone told me I wasn’t a writer, it would sadden me – because it isn’t true. Good questions though (: Good thinking.

  2. Poetry not necesary nees to be writen, it can be visual, video art, photography …

    I believe that poetry is a one step more than writing, a state in itself.

    Poetry is a picture painted with words

  3. Mark Twain spoke of the β€œbest word, not it’s second cousin” and Coleridge distinguised between prose and poetry as β€œprose – words in their best order, poetry – the best words in their best order.”

Please give your comments. I love to hear your comments.

