Do I or Do I Not?


Do I matter?
Or do I not matter?

Only to be a door mat
Or to be a floor mat

Is my dream unacceptable?
Only to be overwritten
Opinions are given to me to be listened

Is my voice unheard?
Due to my softness

My mind wanders
Aimlessly in the clouds

My legs wanders
Aimlessly between house and outside

Do I matter?
Or do I not matter?


Inspiration On: Sunday, 1 March 2015 at 4:20am to 4:34am

Driven by the strong feelings of depression, I begin to question my existence. Questioning the reason of me being alive instead of my eldest sister who is more intelligent then I do. Her intelligence and strong absorption in learning are praised by my parents. And I know I am slow. Hence, I do my best in my studies. Escaping deaths thrice plus twice. I feel so tired of living and being taken advantage. Do I able to succeed to contribute to my family financially? Thank you for your time to read this poetry. Wish you all have good days and thank you.

22 thoughts on “Do I or Do I Not?

  1. your existence do matter. what people think about you is not your business .. what matters to you is your business. everyone has their own purpose in life and you are also destined to do that.

  2. Of course you matter, Yoshiko, I know you only from here, wordpress, but you seem a really nice person. Don’t say to yourself that you are slow, I heard once something that says : “you can’t judge a fish for his ability to climb a tree” (or something like that), try to explore and explote the good things in you, I think they are a lot !!!

    Feel better, hugs !!!

  3. you ABSOLUTELY matter! God knew you before you were born. He created you for a reason. He has a plan for your life. Keep holding on to Him! ❤

  4. I know I am late to reading this – but you do mnatter – and a voice that is soft is not less heard in the long run – and may even be more heard – because sometimes the loudness gets blocked and tiresome – and so your graceful ways – your loving heart – and your beautiful call to be exactly who you are DOES matter and makes differences that are not always measurable or easy to see – but your essence and presence is appointed by God at this time in existence and knowing that helps stir up truth! ❤ ❤ ❤

Please give your comments. I love to hear your comments.

